人才招聘  |  可持续发展  

欢迎来到美迪欧官网

人才招聘      |      可持续发展

Worldwide

随着美国企业加速退出中国,质量和采购社会责任受到不利影响

发表时间:2019-10-10 00:00:00

全球供应链向新地区推进

在关税新规即将于12月15日生效之际,随着美国企业准备迎接下一波从中国进口商品的关税浪潮,产品质量和可持续性也面临窘境。

去年7月,Madeown对所有主要消费者群体中拥有国际供应链的全球化企业进行的调研显示,近一半的受访者对中美贸易谈判的结果抱有悲观预期。此外,超过三分之二的受访者表示,他们应对新一轮关税的战略是加快采购的多元化发展步伐并加强在新地区的存在。

现在,随着新一轮的中美关税即将到来,以及美国和欧盟之间贸易的日益升级,Madeown在2019年第三季度收集的数据表明,上述战略已在实施之中,且对全球供应链的产品质量和可持续性产生了不利影响。



图片展示

全球采购趋势:美国品牌加快退出中国,买家寻求通过中国邻国实现采购多元化

Madeown关于2019年第三季度的检验和审核需求数据显示,美国从中国的采购量正加速锐减:2019年前三个季度同比下降17%(而2019年上半年为-13%)。Madeown数据显示,全部回流美国仍是小规模现象,从中国转移出去的大部分业务都进入了第三国,包括墨西哥、秘鲁、危地马拉、海地等近岸国家,其他南美和拉美国家表示,来自美国客户的检验和审核需求增速达到两位数

除了近岸国家之外,美国买家还关注了较远的采购目的地:北非和中东的采购地区正经历大量新订单涌入,2019年,土耳其、埃及和约旦的检验和审核需求比2018年翻了一番。

在欧洲,地中海国家也迎来了欧洲买家需求的增长,他们虽然受中美贸易战的影响较小,但也在寻求减少对中国的依赖。Madeown关于欧盟客户检验和审核需求的数据显示,2019年与2018年相比,土耳其、摩洛哥和突尼斯都出现了两位数的扩张。


中国在美国和欧盟之外保持强劲的业务增长

中国的情况又如何呢?这个采购大国自然不会坐以待毙,它通过其他地区的客户弥补了美国和欧盟需求的下降,亚洲(同比增长58%)、中东(同比增长26%)和拉丁美洲(同比增长6%)等地区企业对中国产能的兴趣日益增长。


随着采购转移,产品质量受到影响

Madeown在2019年现场检验中收集的数据证实,采购地区的变化正对生产质量产生不利影响。具体而言,多个新兴采购地区的纺织品和服装制造商正努力应对新买家的涌入。2019年第三季度,柬埔寨检验不合格率同比增长26%,约旦同比增长17%,斯里兰卡同比增长13%,越南同比增长10%。即使在向土耳其这样的成熟的纺织品市场上,尽管它之前处理采购量增加的表现比其他国家更好,但在2019年第三季度检验的纺织品中,超过三分之一未达到可接受的质量限定标准(2019年第二季度为26%)。

Madeown实验室测试结果表明,纺织品和服装的一些质量问题可能源于供应链上游。在2019年第三季度测试的纺织品和服装批次中,超过14%的不合格问题来自于各种面料质量问题,特别是色牢度、耐磨性和接缝处的纱线滑移等。

同时,在原本是质量表现较好的电子和电气部门,不符合规格的产品比例也持续攀升。经过进一步观察可以看出,产品质量下降与电子和电气部门采购越来越多从中国转移到新地区(泰国、巴基斯坦和菲律宾)的时间轴一致,到目前为止,Madeown在2019年检查的电子和电气产品批次中,有三分之一到一半的批次未达到可接受的质量限定标准(中国的这一比例为21%)。


随着社会责任风险上升,在采购多元化的过程中缺乏对可持续性的关注

Madeown 2018年和2019年的年度调研都发现,企业在处理采购地区转移面临的多重挑战过程中,不可避免地将社会责任和可持续性问题放在其众多优先考虑事项的最末位。Madeown审核员在2019年第三季度现场收集的数据也印证了这一观点。

对过去两年社会责任得分的变化情况进行的分析显示,在2018年观察到不均衡但积极的上升态势之后,2019年的可持续性表现有所下降。结合历史数据进行分析显示,合规表现往往会在假期到来前下滑,这一趋势预示了一项非常现实的风险,即去年在符合社会责任的采购方面取得的初步进展可能正逐渐逆转

在对数据进行更进一步观察后可以发现,因重大不合规问题被列为“红色”的工厂比例呈上升趋势。2019年第三季度,Madeown审核员将其所审核的近四分之一的工厂评为不合格等级,最常见的重大不合规问题与工作时数和薪资问题,以及健康和安全问题相关。此外,2019年年初至今,与童工相关的重大违规问题比例居高不下,在Madeown审核的工厂中,有3.2%存在此问题

尽管社会责任方面的表现普遍不佳,但刚经历买方需求增加的采购地区尤为突出。与2019年上半年相比,南亚和东南亚的社会责任得分在2019年第三季度分别下滑3.5%和5%。

同时,中国在经历长期改善之后,也出现了社会责任合规状况下滑,与2019年上半年接受审核的工厂平均得分相比下降了2.4%。工作时数和薪资违规问题是这种下行趋势的主要推动因素,与生产旺季使用临时工暴增和加班管理不善相关。


Madeown季度报告关键KPIs


图片展示

MADEOWN CHS 中山,中国

Tel:86 760 8795 6100

中国广东省中山市三乡镇振华路3号三乡金融商务中心1403

Room 1403, Sanxiang financial business center, No.3 Zhenhua Road, Sanxiang Town, Zhongshan City, Guangdong Province, China.

E-mail:info@madeown.com


MADEOWN USA 科罗拉多 美国 

Tel:213 3753 998

美国科罗拉多布莱顿亚当斯A组18街南36号

Add:36 South 18th Avenue, Suite A Brighton, CO USA

E-mail:info@madeown.com


copyright@美迪欧国际检测认证有限公司 版权所有 粤ICP17067040号 

图片展示
在线咨询

您好,请点击在线客服进行在线沟通!

联系方式
热线电话
86 760 8795 6100
扫一扫二维码
二维码

Welcome to the Madeown website

Worldwide

As U.S. companies accelerate their withdrawal from China, quality and procurement social responsibility are adversely affected

2019-10-10 00:00:00

Global supply chain advances to new regions

      With the new tariffs coming into effect on December 15, as US companies prepare for the next wave of tariffs on imports from China, product quality and sustainability are also facing dilemmas.

      A survey of global companies with international supply chains in all major consumer groups in July last year found that nearly half of respondents had a pessimistic view of the outcome of the Us-China trade talks. In addition, more than two-thirds of respondents said their strategy for dealing with a new round of tariffs was to accelerate the diversification of procurement and strengthen their presence in new areas.


图片展示

      Nowadays, with a new round of U.S.-China tariffs looming and trade between the U.S. and the European Union escalating, data collected by Madeown in the third quarter of 2019 shows that these strategies are already being implemented and have a negative impact on the quality and sustainability of global supply chains.

Global Purchasing Trends: U.S. Brands Accelerate Exit from China, Buyers Seek To Diversify Through China's Neighbors

      Madeown's inspection and audit demand data for the third quarter of 2019 show that U.S. purchases from China are accelerating sharply: 17% year-on-year decline in the first three quarters of 2019 (compared with -13% in the first half of 2019). Madeown data shows that the full return to the United States is still a small phenomenon, the transfer of most of the business from China has entered third countries, including Mexico, Peru, Guatemala, Haiti and other nearby countries, other South American and Latin American countries said that the U.S. customer inspection and audit demand growth reached double digits.


      In addition to near-shore countries, U.S. buyers are also looking at distant destinations: North Africa and the Middle East are experiencing an influx of new orders, and in 2019, Turkey, Egypt and Jordan


      In Europe, the Mediterranean countries have also seen an increase in demand from European buyers, who, while less affected by the CHINA-US trade war, are seeking to reduce their dependence on China. Data from Madeown on EU customer inspection and audit needs show that Turkey, Morocco and Tunisia all saw double-digit expansions in 2019 compared with 2018.

China maintains strong business growth outside the U.S. and EU

      What about China? The big buying nation is certainly not sitting on its hands, making up for falling demand in the US and the EU through customers in other regions, and growing interest in Chinese capacity is growing in Asia (up 58 per cent year-on-year), the Middle East (up 26 per cent year-on-year) and Latin America (up 6 per cent year-on-year).

Product quality is affected as procurement shifts

      Data collected by Madeown in the 2019 site inspection confirm that changes in the procurement area are having a negative impact on production quality. Specifically, textile and clothing manufacturers in several emerging sourcing regions are struggling to cope with the influx of new buyers. In the third quarter of 2019, Cambodia's inspection failure rate increased by 26% YoY, Jordan's 17% YoY, Sri Lanka's 13% YoY and Vietnam's 10% YoY. Even in mature textile markets such as Turkey, where it has previously handled an increase in purchases performed better than other countries, more than one third of the textiles inspected in the third quarter of 2019 did not meet acceptable quality limits (26 per cent in the second quarter of 2019).

      The Results of the Madeown laboratory tests indicate that some quality problems in textiles and clothing may have originated from upstream of the supply chain. In the textile and clothing batches tested in the third quarter of 2019, more than 14% of nonconforming problems stem from a variety of fabric quality issues, in particular color fastness, wear resistance and yarn slip at seams.


      At the same time, in the original quality performance of the electronic and electrical sector, non-compliant products continue to climb. Further observation shows that the decline in product quality is consistent with the increasing number of procurement sprees in the electronics and electrical sectors from China to new areas (Thailand, Pakistan and the Philippines), and that, so far, Madeown has inspected the electronic and electrical products batch in 2019. Between one-third and one half of the batches do not meet acceptable quality-qualified standards (21 per cent in China).


As social responsibility risks rise, there is a lack of attention to sustainability in the process of sourcing


      Madeown's 2018 and 2019 annual surveys have found that companies are inevitably putting social responsibility and sustainability issues at the bottom of their many priorities when dealing with the multiple challenges facing regional transfers in procurement. The data collected by the Madeown auditors during the third quarter of 2019 also confirmed this view.


      An analysis of the changes in social responsibility scores over the past two years shows that after an uneven but positive upward trend was observed in 2018, the sustainability performance in 2019 declined. Analysis based on historical data shows that responsibility performance tends to decline before the holidays, a trend that foreshadows a very real risk that the initial progress in socially responsible procurement last year may be gradually reversed.


      After closer inspection of the data, it can be found that the proportion of factories classified as "red" due to major non-compliance issues is on the rise. In the third quarter of 2019, Madeown auditors rated nearly a quarter of the factories they audited as ineligible, with the most common major non-compliance issues related to work hours and pay, and health and safety issues. In addition, since the beginning of 2019, the proportion of major violations related to child labor has remained high. 3.2% of the factories audited by Madeown have this problem.


      Although social responsibility performance is generally poor, purchasing regions that have just experienced increased buyer demand are particularly prominent. Compared with the first half of 2019, South and Southeast Asia's social responsibility scores fell by 3.5% and 5% in the third quarter of 2019, respectively.


      At the same time, China has experienced a decline in social responsibility after a long-term improvement, a 2.4% drop from the average score of factories audited in the first half of 2019. Hours of work and wage violations are the main drivers of this downward trend, related to the surge in the use of temporary workers during the peak production season and poor management of overtime.


Key KPIs from Madeown Quarterly Report

图片展示

Madeown China

1403, Sanxiang financial business center, Sanxiang, Zhongshan,Guangdong, CHN

Partners in your supply chain

copyright@ Madeown


Madeown USA

36 South 18th Avenue, Suite A Brighton,CO USA 80601

Partners in your supply chain

copyright@ Madeown

Guangdong ICP17067040 no

图片展示
Service Center

Please choose online customer service to communicate

Contacts
Hotline
213 3753
Scan a QR Code
Qrcode